Love…

I tend to say that I’m a loving person…i love to give of myself, and my time. I love to give gifts…but does that mean i’m a “loving” person. Or am i just a giving person? Recently, i was reminded…through a friend…that love is more than that. Love isn’t about demanding things from someone, love is being there when they need you. Love is being concerned for your own agendas, it’s realizing that somethings are more important. Love is loving others more than you love yourself. And while i still think to a certain degree I am a loving person. And that loving does involve giving of your self, and your time…and even gifts at times, because we all spend our money and efforts on things we LOVE…

1 Corinthians 13…seems to be the go to chapter for all cases of love, and when i turned to this chapter tonight i was reminded of the powerful discription of love that it paints…

If i speak with human eloquence and angeliz ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing more but the creaking of a rusty gate. If I speak God’s Word with power, revaling all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mount, “Jump” and it jumps, but i don’t love, I’m NOTHING.
Love never gives up
Love cares more for others than for self
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have
Love doesn’t strut
Doesn’t have a swelled head
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first.”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in flowering of truth
Puts up with anything
Trust God ALWAYS
Always looks for the BEST
NEVER looks back
BUT keeps going to the end
Love never dies….

(1 Corinthians 13:1-8, The Message)

…I was both encouraged and challenged when i read this. i want to learn to love this way…for my family and my friends. I want to learn this kind of love…to love with the love that God intended us to have for HIM and for one another.

What a beautiful description, of the Father’s love for us…I’m reminded of the lyrics to Hosanna by Hillsong…”Show me how to love like YOU have love ME”

-God is changing me…what can is say? It’s a beautiful thing…

«

Leave a comment